top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • bourtondogtraining

But what does your dog want? Part 1



Dog training on the whole focuses on what the owner wants the dog to do. But have you ever questioned what does your dog want? I was once told to make a list of five things your dog enjoys each day...each week...and each month. This stuck with me and now I make sure all of these are met for Diva. Having this basis to our relationship means it has never felt better and stronger. As the sole provider for your dog their happiness is in your hands. They spend their life adopting your needs, so it would only be kind to make sure they enjoy their time with us and get something in return.


This is Diva's Daily top 5


1. Morning run- a 3 mile run every morning together. This not only improves our relationship but improves our health and fitness. She loves nothing more than to pull me along every morning. She is also starting to learn how to motivate me when I'm tired as well as let me know when cars are coming by backing onto the verges. I would highly recommend for owners that have dogs that cannot be trusted off lead yet as this not only gets rid of excess energy safely, but also improves your connection. If you are not a runner, perhaps cycling together could be just what is needed for your companion.


2. Food - Breakfast and dinner are always welcome to Diva! I try to switch it up frequently so that she can enjoy a variety of food groups. I try to cook for Diva as much as possible so that she can taste different foods. This way you can find out your dog's taste preferences. This can help later on when training as I know that Diva loves banana's but when given the opportunity steak is her favourite.


3. Training and play- This changes weekly depending on our needs and priority. Anyone who knows me can tell you that my style of training is based on Diva's enjoyment and engagement to the activity. I know she loves training as she makes squeaky noises at me when I get the clicker out! If you train correctly and make everything light hearted there is no reason your dog wouldn't enjoy a bit of time together doing new things or practicing the old skills.


4. Running around in the fields behind our home- Now this is tied into no.3 I guess but I believe in Diva's mind it is a different thing. There is nothing better in Diva's day than being allowed to run around in the secure field behind our home which must be done with a ball in the mouth and occasionally given to me to throw again. If Diva has worked incredibly hard that day I would give her an extra run in the field just to feel free!


5. Falling asleep spooning- This one is my favourite. Regardless of having a bad day or a good day there's nothing that finishes the day off better than cuddling that sweet girl. It is Diva's priority every night to be spooned (under the sheets may I add ) until we all fall asleep. I find that Diva feels very much apart of our life now that she is able to sleep close to us and will actively ask to be under the duvet with her feet sticking out. This not only improves our sleep but starts our morning well too.


Look out for parts 2 & 3; including her weekly and monthly top 5. I hope this series of blogs inspire new ideas of how to spend time with your dog and improve your relationship.

bottom of page