top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • bourtondogtraining

But what does your dog want? Part 2




To continue our saga...



Diva's Weekly Top 5


1. Training - Every week we focus on something that we need to improve on. At the moment it is mainly tracking, as I'm a horrific line handler and Diva pulls like a draught horse. However, I wont go at it every week constantly, I will change it up at the minimum weekly, but sometimes daily dependent on the task. Diva appreciate the change up, as she can get cocky and believe she knows better than me in some exercises! I find that this change up of exercises really helps keep things new and interesting in Diva's mind, thus maintaining that enthusiasm and drive.




2. Steak day- In our house, there's a specific day where Dave (our housemate) will have steak. I find that this is Diva's favourite evening of the week, as she is 100% going to get at least the majority of the steak and sometimes she gets her own steak cooked in minimal oil.


3. Going to visit Daddy Jimmy - On a Sunday we make a 70 mile journey to visit our trainer Fitz and Diva's dad Jimmy. This normally means for Diva a whole day out playing, training and trying new and different methods. As well as staring at the horses, alpacas and chickens that live on site. I know that Diva loves Sundays as she is normally shattered when she gets home and has incredibly active dreams.

4. Change of scenery- At least once a week, I try to train Diva in a different area. This can go from the field over the road to the lit up park in Bloxham to working her in the equestrian centre where I train my classes. This not only improves her reliability of exercises but also gives her new challenges and change is always nice, no matter how small.


5. Lounging on the sofa- For an active dog, Diva sure does enjoy nothing more than cuddling on the sofa. It has taken many years to teach Diva the 'off switch' but she sure does have one at home now. Malinois are very cuddly dogs and can get very attached to their humans and she has her place on the sofa which is on top of either myself or Chris.





bottom of page